These are a few – ok, 21 – of my favourite songs of 2015. Part 1

Daniel Johns

If you were anywhere near me this year you’d have heard these songs coming from my room, car, headphones or – if you were really unlucky – my singing along.

Trends? Patterns? Foibles? Maybe – knock yourselves out if you want and let me know if these tell you anything about me or 2015. But more likely they are just songs which tripped me up and held my attention. Repeatedly.

And I didn’t even include older songs that came into, or back into, my life this year like the 752 versions of Like A Rolling Stone in the Dylan box, The Best Of The Cutting Edge, or pretty much anything by the first incarnation of the Allman Brothers Band.

Here they are in no particular order or pattern, just split into two groups.

Do with them as you wish, though if you wanted to put together a mix tape it would make a fine party if you ask me. What’s that? You didn’t ask me? Ok, I’ll shut up and play.

Steve Silk Hurley – The Word Is Love (Adam K remix)

Daniel Johns – Aerial Love

Drake –Hotline Bling

Black Cab – Victorious (Mikey Young remix)

Missy Elliott – WTF

Palace Of The King – Another Thing Coming

L-Fresh The Lion – Get Mine

Flight Facilities – Down To Earth

Weeknd – Can’t Feel My Face

Dwight Yoakam – Liar

Troye Sivan – Wild

 

To come: part two, where the Drones, Grimes and George Fitzgerald are part of the fun. http://bernardzuel.com/2015/12/30/these-are-a-few-ok-21-of-my-favourite-songs-of-2015-part-2/

 

Leave a comment